top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureAdvaita Western Dance Society

Behind the groove with Ally

Updated: Jul 1, 2020

Experiences of the president of our society. How it is to really be part of dance society in Delhi University College as a Fresher?


Welcome to this blog post. The very first blog is about our very own President. Our president Ally Gupta can be really nice and shady at the same time. Keep Scrolling to read about how a second year girl with no experience in first year managed the society.

What are your thoughts on the credibility of Dance society Presidents? Does your society elect a president through democracy? Or your Alumni(s) choose them? Let us know.

How things worked as Freshers in Advaita

The moment I came to the college the very next day I saw this amazing group of people jamming together, I got to know that they are the people from the dance society and I wanna be a part of it for sure, expectations were super high but being part of it was a struggle, hours of practices, skipping lectures but everything was worth it until I realised it's a flop year, waking up early going home late for nothing. I remember when we finally decided to close the season for our team and I removed "Advaita" from my Instagram bio because we did not have a production and very few people by our side. It broke my heart, wanted to scream. But look where we are now. It was a process that made me realise the value of stage, people, discipline, art and everything to be a sensible leader and at this very moment I'm proud of myself and my team for surviving that year and rocking this year.

Let's talk to Ally and ask her what are her thoughts on this-

'Having to experience a lot in these 2 years of my life, from an immature high school graduate to the president in the very second year. Having to experience a year full of rejections and disappointments to make a mind of ice to achieve what we aimed for a year back.

If I look back to December 2018, I can not see anything but a blur tomorrow, with no hopes, but the moment I got the post of President in the second year of my college with zero experience of how things work here, made me realize that another side of me is very dynamic and spontaneous. Nothing would have been possible without the support and trust of my pillars i.e. My Core, having faith in me and accepting every decision I made, to do everything possible yet impossible at that very moment.

From a team under the soil to make it breath below the open sky, we all made it.

This was hell of a journey and can not wait to experience another year of this responsibility with all my heart and with my core along.' said Ally.

If you're the new president of your team just work hard, anyone can do it, you just need to be determined.

"For me, dance society has changed me in multiple ways. It has taught me how to be strong, confident, sassy and most importantly a better dancer.

Ally di as a president has taught many things but one thing that I really adore is how to be calm and patient when the things around are clumsy or going wrong." says Isha from First year.



Ally Gupta, President of Advaita (2019-21)

155 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page